Running into Trouble with XWiki’s WYSIWYG Editor Settings

Standard

I was playing with XWiki’s Wysiwyg editor’s settings the other day/  I added the font plugin, and then went to the toolbar and aded in the fontname and fontsize features.  I hit save, and browsed to a page, and clicked ‘Edit’.  I expected to see two new drop down box in the toolbar, however I was greeted with the exact same toolbar on the editor.

“No problem”, I thought.  “I can go to the configuration and see what I did wrong”. So I browsed back to the WYSIWYG section and I was greeted with this:

The options to add and remove features are missing

The options to add and remove the menu bars’s features are missing

Yes, the options to add and remove the menu bar’s features completely disappeared. No Input Box, no cloud of links… I realised what I did.  I added the ‘fontname’ and the ‘fontsize’ features to the menu bar instead of the toolbar.  Since these features aren’t supported by the menu bar, it caused some sort of javascript error that stopped the options from displaying.

Now that the options are missing, I CAN’T UNDO IT THE CHANGES I MADE, CRAP!!!

After Googling like crazy, consulting documentation and even logging into IRC and asking for help.  I had no choice but to try asking people on the mailing list.  I crafted up my help message and sent it out.   A few hours later I got help.

Xwiki’s settings are stored as objects on a page, so to manually make the changes, the only thing that’s required is to browse to the right page and edit the text.

In this case the page is called “XWiki.WysiwygEditorConfig”. Appropriately named isn’t it.  Usually when the Xwiki users refer to a page, they will give in it the convention “SpaceName.PageName”.  This means that the page is located in the “XWiki” space, and it’s named “WysiwygEditorConfig”.  To Edit the page, browse to it using the full address:

http://your-xwiki-location/bin/view/Xwiki/WysiwygEditorConfig

Once you’re there you have the option to edit the values manually using the object editor.  However I prefer to rollback and undo my changes.  Then go back to the Administrator section and try to make the changes again. … correctly.